(some) of the “extra” things I learned in college

blog

So after a few months after graduating college, I have barely scratched the real world- like I say- I don’t know what I’m doing. But I learned some things in college that have been useful for real life.

These are things that were not for a grade, personal/professional development, or something to put on my resume. These are “the extra” things. That are VERY much valuable for real life, but are not usually taught in a class or told you need to know- hint, hint. I did have some teachers and professors teach real life- which THANK GOODNESS- I’m grateful for that. But these are a little different- at least in my opinion. The “little things” that help out in life.

First and foremost, I can literally sleep through JUST about anything- besides my obnoxious alarm clock (I set 3 on my phone and 1 “real” one) and above or below target blood sugars (grateful for that- thanks body). But seriously, after college dorms and noisy neighbors and needing to sneak a nap in the student center… I can sleep through ANYTHING-Noises outside, the cat playing with the toys in the middle of the night (apparently), storms, the sun rising. Etc etc. You name it- I sleep through it.

Next? I am completely and totally comfortable making all of my meals on Sunday (if I actually make myself do this) and eating the same thing for several days– same goes for leftovers- nothing to waste- and minimal effort please (I’m not a fan of cooking).

Another- I can spot a deal just about anywhere. I feel like a hawk waiting for the right moment to purchase something.

yes- there’s more– I know how to get lost and do it well- what I mean- I factor in extra time so I can enjoy it instead of being worried about being late.

And finally… my favorite skill- I can Tetris-the-Dishwasher like no other! I have no intention of leaving any space when I do the dishes (less loads means saving money and less work to do). I like to admire my work before I close up and turn it on.

Of course there are “other” skills- but these are just my favorites and most useful for me in my day to day life. (and the ones that come to mind).

 

Hey you! Yes, you! 

Let’s connect on Twitter, Facebook, or Instagram (maybe even 2 or all of those!). 

If you enjoyed this post, please comment and share. I’d also appreciate your feedback.

and of course-don’t forget to keep up with “There’s More to the Story” via email! (Right sidebar towards the top).

We’ll both be glad you did! -Mindy

2 thoughts on “(some) of the “extra” things I learned in college

  1. I read your blog with great interest as I have a daughter who just turned 42 (yikes how can I have a child that age and she is my baby). I was diagnosed with Type 1 55 years ago and was on NPH and Regular twice per day. Continued on that course until 1982 when went on Ultralente, Regular and Lente with 6 injections per day. Now use a Medtronic pump with CGM and getting good results, The lows can especially wipe me out. The end of September will have a birthday which brings me 1 year from 70 and I am still working full time for the Insurance to pay for all of my supplies for CGM, Pump etc. It works well as I have no co-pay at this time. Do pay $40 for the Humalog but get 5 vials for the 90 day time frame. It is not bad at all. Enjoyed reading your post as it describes my life to a T. Thanks for putting it in words.
    Pat (AZ)

Leave a Reply

