282. What-cha gonna do when Diabetes comes for you?

This week. Already feels like a crazy week to me. So much is going on. So much is happening.  The end of the semester is fast approaching. Yesterday. the bombs at the Boston Marathon… What kind of world do we live in? What comes next? I just can’t understand. My thoughts are with everyone impacted and everyone helping victims and their loved ones. I cannot even imagine what is going on in their minds right now. I cannot imagine what they are going through. But as a runner, I cannot imagine how this will impact their relationship with running. What if they don’t want to or can’t run again? How will they get a runner’s high again? That is so hard to replicate.

But you know what is truly beautiful to me?  Beautiful real bookstores.  I love being able to hear your steps going across the wooden floor. The creaking beneath your feet. The years of history of the steps of others before you. The bookshelves going from floor to ceiling. The smell of old books everywhere. Nothing really tops that for me. Buying books online and from chain stores is absolutely fine, but I think it is important to allow yourself to experience a real bookstore.

With all this craziness going on, I am trying really hard to allow myself to enjoy moments and take a chance to breathe even if just for a moment. I have a tendency to keep going a million miles an hour, and once I stop everything hits me. It starts building up, and eventually I kind of explode. How am I taking a moment to breathe? Well right now I am sitting and waiting for my next class to start. I am and was listening to the new “Paramore” album, I love them so much. But I am making sure to really take the time and listen. Music is my escape. Music allows me to express myself when I am unable to. Music helps me to allow myself to feel my emotions. Music is my outlet.

and right now. I need that for sure.

Ever get the feeling that Diabetes is watching you? Ever wonder if Diabetes sits and waits for the not so perfect moment to jump out and say hey? Ever wonder if Diabetes is always preparing for war? Ever wonder if Diabetes likes to giggle to itself at your expense?

I sure do. Especially when Diabetes doesn’t understand that I have stuff to do. Diabetes sure did not understand this weekend. I was high most of the weekend. Great. Thanks. Not like I had homework and work to do. I really love the timing.

Well, I learned a few things this weekend to hopefully at least eliminate a few factors in my management.

No more sites in my stomach. It just doesn’t work so well for me, at all. No matter what type of set or needle, it refuses to work well. So that takes away a place for site rotation… great. the culprit? Combo of numbing cream/site/stuff that helps pump sites stay put. I am pretty sure that I am allergic to all three of those. When I was 9, I had a MAJOR allergic reaction to a new site I was trying along with the numbing cream. I was unable to use my stomach until I was 16 because of the scar tissue. Well. now that I have lost some weight (mostly inches. I am a lot more toned than I used to be). I can’t really use my stomach anymore because the scar tissue is saying “Oh? you’d like to rotate to your stomach? Nope. Not happening.” I also had an allergic reaction to the “sticky stuff” to help pump sites stay put. Well, great. Thanks. But at least I don’t need that stuff. Turns out that I needed to switch from a 9mm to a 6mm needle/tube for my pump sites because of my weight loss (Discovered this in December).  But no more stomach for me.

I also tested out a different basal pattern for weekends. I do a lot of walking on campus, and when I say a lot… I mean A LOT! I do not like buses at all, and I avoid them as much as possible. I don’t like being out of control. So I walk wherever I go. That impacts my blood sugars. I also eat way healthier during the week. I allow myself some leeway during the weekend. That impacts my blood sugars. So what does that mean? Higher blood sugars during the weekend. So Saturday night I started a new pattern which is over 2 units higher than my normal pattern. Basically I am getting more insulin than usual. I also changed my carb ratios for food and sensitivity/target for blood sugar corrections. I wish that had a pattern, but nope. I get to do math. Yay… Hate math.

So these two things together… made for a very interesting weekend. I spent the majority of it higher and irritated. But at least I know what is going on now, and I got to catch up on some Buffy The Vampire Slayer. She is one cool awesome person! Hopefully that is all figured out for now. Getting older, not growing up, does make you a little wiser. I am more conscious about how my body and my blood sugars react to different scenarios.

Love, Words, Inspiration, and Insulin! -Until next time! and until there’s a cure!

 

Hey you! Yes, you! 

Let’s connect on Twitter, Facebook, or Instagram (maybe even 2 or all of those!). 

If you enjoyed this post, please comment and share. I’d also appreciate your feedback.

and of course-don’t forget to keep up with “There’s More to the Story” via email! (Right sidebar towards the top).

We’ll both be glad you did! -Mindy

Leave a Reply

